Malawi’s national flag adopted in 1964 and readopted again in 2012 by parliament.

Doctor kamuzu Hastings Banda is the longest serving president of Malawi from 1963 until 1994. Born in kasunga, central region. After losing the presidency to Bakili Muluzi during the first multi-party polls he ensured a peaceful and smooth transfer of power.


Bakili Muluzi served as Malawi president for a decade from 1994 to 2004. Muluzi lead his UDF to victory during Malawi’s first multi-party elections in May 1994 during his tenure Malawi wrote a new constitution that came into effect on 1 January 1995. Towards the end of his presidency he tried to change the constitution to allow him to serve a 3rd term, but the open term bill was rejected by Parliament. His also the first muslim to be a president in Malawi.


Bingu wa Mutharika served as Malawi’s 3rd president from 2004 until his death from a cardic arrest in 2012. During his tenure Malawi witnessed an economic growth rate of 7% for 5 years and in 2008 was named the second fastest growing economy in the world after oil rich Qatar. During second term he fail out of favour with the international community and the Malawi economy began a downfall and witnessed forex and fuel shortages.


Madam Joyce Banda made history in 2012 when she became president of Malawi. She is the first female and shortest tenured president of Malawi. Her tenure only lasted two years from 2012 to 2014. She became president after the sudden death of Bingu wa Mutharika in April 2012.
During her tenure Malawi witnessed an economic recovery from one and a half week import cover to a three months import cover, Forex and fuel avaliablitiy among other things. She lost in her first election test in May 2014.


Peter Mutharika is the fifth and current president of Malawi. He was elected in May 2014. His a former foreign affairs minister in the cabinet of his elder brother Bingu wa Mutharika.wp-16125493148621310820182032835252.jpg


Honorable John Tembo is the longest serving member of  parliament. He joined politics in 1961 and became a member of parliament for Dedza south from 1961 to 2014, he was the leader of the opposition in parliament from 2004 to 2014. He tired to be president on two elections and lost he was declared number two on both poll outcomes. During his political career he also served as vice president of Malawi congress party, Governor of the Reserve Bank of Malawi, finance minister, CEO auction holdings, leader of the opposition in parliament, etc.wp-16125493147346644502682985812690.jpg

Hon Chakufwa Chihana served as Malawi’s second vice president during the coalition of his AFORD party and Muluzi’s UDF. Chihana is credited as being the father of democrary in Malawi. He was the leader of the first underground movement in Malawi that challenged kamuzu to call for a referendum We was arrested for six years without trial. His death in 2006 was acorded a state funeral.wp-16125493148336986225443628934036.jpg

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s